ARC REVIEW – Stay Until We Break (Hub City #2) by Mercy Brown


Title: Stay Until We Break

Author: Mercy Brown

Release Date: June 21, 2016

Publisher: Intermix a Berkley/NAL Imprint

ALP Synopsis1

Twenty-one-year-old Sonia Grant, a business major, has big plans for a career in the music industry. So when she’s offered the job of tour manager for her best friend’s band, she jumps at the chance for some real life experience. When her number one crush, bassist Cole McCormack, jumps her the first night on tour, she hopes she’s in for three weeks of some hot backstage action, too. But Cole turns out to have more up his sleeve than she or anyone realized.

Nobody knows that Cole is on the road to party like a rock star one last time before quitting his dream to take a more practical job and settle down. What he hadn’t planned was to fall in love with a girl he believes is out of his league. Will Cole play out the rock star fantasy he thinks Sonia wants from him, or tell her the truth and take the chance that she’ll either break his heart or make an even bigger dream come true?

ALP GoodreadsOwl

ALP PurLinks Owl


Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks

ALP PatriciaReview Owl

This book was on my short list of most anticipated releases for 2016. I became smitten with these characters in Brown’s debut book, Loud is How I Love You, and I was excited to be back in the world of SOFT with the gang. Though I am not normally drawn to rocker stories, Brown’s characters and writing style won me over in LiHILY and I was anxious to see how Sonia and Cole’s story would play out.

I liked Sonia and Cole and I enjoyed watching them succumb to their feelings. There was definite chemistry between them and that produced some sweet moments and some seriously HOT moments. The band shenanigans and road trip mischief added some comedic relief to the challenges they faced on the road and provided some entertaining laugh out loud moments.

I had high expectations going into this story and I was disappointed that it came up short for me. I wanted more of Sonia and Cole – more of their backstories, more of them falling in love and more of them together. I understand this is a rocker story but I struggled to remain engaged through the overwhelming details of band life. SUWB certainly conveyed Brown’s experience with and affinity for life in a band and though it was not a favorite for me, it was an enjoyable read.

Overall Rating: 3 STARS

*I was provided a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

ALPOwl Series


Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks

ALP AuthBio1 Owl

MB Profile

Mercy Brown is a retired indie rock front girl turned author and LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU is her first book. LOUD is a New Adult novel and will be published by Intermix (Berkley-Penguin) in January 2016. LOUD is based, very, very loosely on Mercy’s experiences fronting bands in the 90s. A follow-up will be published in June 2016.

Mercy is represented by Brooks Sherman of the Bent Agency.

ALP SocMed OwlFacebook | Twitter | Website | Instagram | Goodreads