ARC REVIEW – Loud Is How I Love You (A Hub City Romance) by Mercy Brown


Title: Loud Is How I Love You

Author: Mercy Brown

Release Date: January 19, 2016

Publisher: Intermix a Berkley/NAL Imprint

ALP Synopsis1

One girl’s heart gets rocked to the core in the first novel in this sexy New Adult series.

Twenty-one-year-old front girl Emmylou knows that getting her band noticed in the ‘90s indie rock scene will be no easy task. She definitely knows better than to break the number one rule of the band: Don’t sleep with your bandmates! But after she ends up having the best sex of her life with her guitarist, Travis, she finds following that rule is a lot harder than it sounds.

When the band gets the gig of their dreams, making it big seems just within reach. But Emmy’s inability to keep her hands off Travis threatens everything they’ve worked for. Can Emmy find a way to break the rules and not blow the chance of a lifetime?

ALP GoodreadsOwl

ALP PurLinks Owl


Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks

ALP PatriciaReview Owl

An entertaining journey through the romantic woes of falling for your friend and band mate. I was drawn to this debut novel by the promises of 90’s music and a friends-to-lovers romance. I am pleased to say the author delivered on those promises and gave me a story I whole-heartedly enjoyed.

I adored these characters. Though frustrating at times, Emmy was fierce and determined to see her band be successful. But her intense feelings for Travis provided a sweet complication that she was unequipped to face. Watching Emmy fight the pull was maddening but watching her succumb to the desires of her heart was bliss.

Travis was incredibly patient with Emmy and I loved how he handled her indecisive shenanigans. He stole my heart somewhere between Sharpie tattoos, pinky swears and witty comebacks. He was the constant Emmy needed even when she refused to see how great they were together. Watching him woo her and worship her was nothing short of swoon worthy.

I am thrilled to have taken a chance on this debut author’s book. The writing was great, the characters were likeable, and the story provided a fun-filled and nostalgic adventure for this 90’s kid. This is a standalone in the series with book two, Stay Until We Break, schedule to release June 21, 2016.

Overall Rating: 4 STARS

*I was provided a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

ALP AuthBio1 Owl

MB Profile

Mercy Brown is a retired indie rock front girl turned author and LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU is her first book. LOUD is a New Adult novel and will be published by Intermix (Berkley-Penguin) in January 2016. LOUD is based, very, very loosely on Mercy’s experiences fronting bands in the 90s. A follow-up will be published in June 2016.

Mercy is represented by Brooks Sherman of the Bent Agency.

ALP SocMed OwlFacebook | Twitter | Website | Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “ARC REVIEW – Loud Is How I Love You (A Hub City Romance) by Mercy Brown

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.